The Idaho Governor’s Cup was established in 1974 by then-Governor Cecil Andrus. It is a 501 (c) (3) organization with a mission to help Idaho kids stay in Idaho to pursue their higher education goals.

What began as a small golf tournament has grown into an annual event with approximately 600 participants and featuring golf, shotgun sports, fly fishing and a number of social activities. Each evening after the daily sporting events wrap up there is great food, entertainment and plenty of networking opportunities.

Governor Otter put his own stamp on the event by deciding to alternate the location between Sun Valley and Coeur d’Alene. These two great Idaho resorts are beautiful venues that impress with their hospitality while offering diverse scenery and activities.

The Governor and First Lady love to host this event each year. They are equally excited to give the proceeds to deserving Idaho students. Both of them have said they couldn’t have attended college without the support of others, so it’s an effort that is near and dear to their hearts.

Our volunteer Board of Directors is made up of representatives of the many generous sponsors that are the lifeblood of our organization. Their responsibilities include fundraising, helping to maintain the prestige of the event and – perhaps most importantly – selecting our scholarship recipients each year.

Important Information

The 2018 dates are September 6-8th, 2018 in Coeur d'Alene, ID. 

The deadline for sponsorship in 2018 is Tuesday, August 3rd.  The deadline for individual registration (sponsored and non-sponsored) is Wednesday, August 15th 

Beginning in 2018, The Idaho Governor's Cup event will always take place the weekend after Labor Day. 

Board of Directors

President – Doug Sayer 

Vice President – Mike Reynoldson

Secretary – Jeremy Pisca 

Treasurer – Cordell Chigbrow

Tore Beal-Gwartney

Mark Benson

Mike Brassey 

Lyn Darrington-Elliot

Ken Dey

Rich Hahn

Jason Kreizenbeck

First Lady Lori Otter

Jayson Ronk

Jeff Sayer

Pat Sullivan

Tim Vedder


Sarah Bettwieser


Emily Patchin